Cold Season

I have not had a virus for two years. With my recent changes in my life, I paid less attention to the health of my immune system. All the running around has caught up with me, and I have a nasty, miserable cold. I’ve been drinking my echinacea and elderberry tea like crazy, drinking tons of water, and I’ve been eating lots of varieties of fruits and vegetables. Nevertheless, viruses do need to run their course. With all the nose blowing, the skin around my nose has gotten dry. My nose is also quite congested. My solution was a simple, homemade version of Vicks Vaporub.

Image

Warm about two tablespoons of coconut oil and pour it into a small, seal-able container. Add 10 drops of peppermint essential oil, 10 drops of eucalyptus essential oil, and 10 drops of tea tree oil. Mix together (a cotton swab works well), and apply. As the coconut oil cools, the mixture will harden. It still easily melts with the heat of your fingertips and can be applied to the nose area. I am going to keep mine in my purse and bring it everywhere for the next few days!

Posted in: DIY

Leave a Reply

