Mushrooms and Quinoa

IMG_0025

On cold days, I often crave a big, savory breakfast to get me fueled for the day. Today it happened to be a big bowl of mushrooms and quinoa.

Ingredients

  • 1-2 cups of sliced Crimini Mushrooms (really, just about any mushroom would work here)
  • 1 cup cooked Quinoa
  • 1 Tbsp Sesame Oil
  • 2 tsp Brown Rice Vinegar
  • 1 tsp Mirin
  • 1 tsp Sea Salt

Heat sesame oil in a large skillet on medium-high heat. Add mushrooms and saute until tender. Add cooked quinoa and stir to combine. Add seasonings and stir to incorporate. Let all ingredients get warmed through and serve. Enjoy! This goes great with a cup of tea.

3 thoughts on “Mushrooms and Quinoa

  1. Penniless Veggie says:

    What a great breakfast dish! Though I often have smoothies, muesli and bran flakes with raisins, I’m increasingly finding that I just can’t face sweet stuff too much and I often really crave a fast easy breakfast meal. What could be more perfect than quinoa? I must remember to cook the quinoa up the night before though! Spinach would also be good here I think. Many thanks for posting! Pinning this 🙂

    Like

  2. crabbyandcute says:

    I have never thought to have mushrooms and quinoa for breakfast. I absolutely love mushroom. Quinoa absorbs flavours beautifully. 🙂 Thanks for sharing. Great protein and veggie combo to start the day off right.

    Like

Leave a Reply

