Lemon and Nutmeg Sugar Scrub

IMG_0146

I love making my own custom facial products. Most products on the market are full of ingredients I can’t pronounce, and therefore I don’t want to put them on my skin! I was in need of exfoliation, so I whipped up a quick sugar scrub (seriously… it took me less than two minutes to gather ingredients and mix it together). I used tea tree oil, lemon juice, and nutmeg since my skin is prone to blemishes and all of these ingredients are said to help with skin issues. This scrub can also be used on the whole body. Just remember to scrub gently, it is mildly abrasive.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup Sugar- I used an organic, fair trade brand that was labeled vegan (I’ve read in multiple sources that some sugars are processed with bone char)
  • 3-5 drops Tea Tree Oil
  • 1/2 tsp Powdered Nutmeg
  • 1 Tbsp Lemon Juice

Combine all ingredients in a jar and put the lid on and shake to blend together. This mixture should last for weeks (I’ve read that sugar scrubs can even last for months), so long as water isn’t introduced. If water gets into the jar, it can begin to mold. These make great gifts as well. Mix some up and enjoy šŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Lemon and Nutmeg Sugar Scrub

Leave a Reply

