Homemade Vegan Lip Balm DIY

lipbalm

Unless I am just unable to find it, I believe there is only one brand and flavor of vegan lip balm in the city I live in. So, I decided it was time to make my own. I made quite a few so that I could give them as Christmas gifts and still have plenty of back ups… I lose my lip balm alllll the time. Twice in my life have I used an entire tube of lip balm before losing it.

Supplies:

  • 1 oz. Candelilla Wax
  • 1 oz. Shea Butter- I got mine here
  • 1 oz. Cocoa Butter- I got mine here
  • 1/2 oz. Liquid Jojoba Oil
  • 20 drops Peppermint Essential Oil
  • 5 drops Vanilla Extract
  • 25 Clear Lip balm Tubes- I got mine here
  • Double Boiler
  • A glass container with a pouring spout
  • Spatula

Begin by heating the double boiler and melting the wax, cocoa butter, and shea butter. The wax may take longer to melt than the butters. While butters and wax are melting, remove caps from lip balm tubes if necessary and set them all with the openings facing upward. Once butters and wax have melted, add the jojoba oil, peppermint oil, and vanilla extract. Stir until combined. Using spatula, scrape into glass container with a spout. Carefully pour liquid into lip balm tubes and allow it to cool, without caps, overnight. Place caps on tubes and label. These make wonderful gifts… or you can just have a bunch stored up for yourself.

7 thoughts on “Homemade Vegan Lip Balm DIY

  1. Pingback: Friday Favorites |

Leave a Reply

