Homemade Laundry Detergent DIY

I am not a fan of chemicals. I read the label of everything I buy, including laundry detergent. In general, cleaning supplies have lots of nasty ingredients that I can’t identify and couldn’t find the source of if I tried. Besides, I really love to make things for myself and use refillable bottles. I get excited every time I do laundry just knowing that I made my detergent. This laundry detergent is super easy to make, inexpensive, and does the job. It even gets my filthy summer gardening clothes clean.

IMG_0732

Supplies:

  • 1 cup Borax
  • 1 cup Washing Soda
  • 1 bar Castile Soap, grated
  • Essential Oils (optional- I did a blend of a lot of scents… bergamot, sandalwood, patchouli, cedarwood, eucalyptus, ginger, sage, rosemary)
  • Gallon jug (mine was an apple juice jug)
  • Funnel

Fill gallon jug a little over 3/4 full with water. Pour into stockpot and bring water to a boil. Reduce to a simmer and add castille soap. Stir until soap flakes dissolve and water becomes murky. Add washing soda and borax and stir until dissolved. Let cool and add essential oils if using. I used about 20-30 drops total. Stir to incorporate essential oils. Funnel into gallon jug. The laundry room in my home is very cold, so the ingredients sometimes separate, but if I give the jug a shake it mixes together again. I use about 1/4 cup to 1/2 cup per load depending on how dirty or large the load is.

IMG_0168

4 thoughts on “Homemade Laundry Detergent DIY

  1. Abby's Kitchen says:

    Wow! What a great idea! Like you I hate chemicals and read the labels on everything I buy. The more natural and base the product, the better it is for us and the environment. I usually buy eco friendly detergent, but hey if I can make my own, even better. I’ll be marking this post and will be giving it a try. Thanks so much for sharing. I really enjoy your DIY yourself ideas 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

