My Ten Favorite Things to Do In Winter

IMG_0353

Let’s face it, Minnesota winters are long, cold, and pretty depressing for most people. To beat the winter blues that are so common around here, there are a few things that I like to do to uplift my spirits.

  1. Snowshoe- I received two sets of snowshoes as a Christmas gift a few years back… and I snowshoe as often as the weather will allow.
  2. Craft/Paint- I love to settle into a cozy house and craft or paint… There’s nothing like doing something inspiring and productive when it’s too cold to be outside.
  3. Photography- I try to photograph the snowy landscapes to remind myself of how beautiful it is.
  4. Moonlight Walks- When the moon is big enough, the light reflects off of the snow, and I enjoy walking through the woods late at night.
  5. Read- I love to cozy up inside and drink tea and crack open a good book.
  6. Have a Fire- Gathering wood and having a bonfire is a wonderful way to enjoy a warmer winter day, you know, like when it’s about 20 degrees F.
  7. Play With My Nieces- Just the other day, my sister and I put her littlest one’s car seat into a sled and my two nieces, sister, and I stomped through a foot and a half of snow. It was a wonderful reminder of how much joy the snow used to bring me as a child.
  8. Yoga- To keep my spirits up in any season, I do yoga. It is the best way to clear my mind and stretch, move, and strengthen my body.
  9. Cook Wonderful Meals- I love to eat in any season, I won’t pretend I don’t. There is something especially wonderful, though, about eating a fabulous meal when the weather is so cold and dreary. There isn’t much that is as comforting as some warming, delicious food during the winter.
  10. Spend Time With Friends- It warms the soul to spend time with really special people. I’ve been enjoying a lot of time playing board games with friends lately.

Well, that’s it… What are your favorite things to do in winter?

7 thoughts on “My Ten Favorite Things to Do In Winter

  1. Emily says:

    When the snow is falling I like to brew a large pot of sleepytime tea, curl up on the couch and watch the snowflakes dance through the night sky (now that I live in the city the streetlights add a different ambiance). I also like watching neighbors help each other out in the snow 🙂 It is a great time for a community to come together!

    Like

Leave a Reply

