Cinnamon Raisin Hot Rice Cereal

IMG_0005

Lately, I’ve been sleeping in too late to eat a good breakfast, and it’s been throwing off my whole day. So, I thought if I had some rice already cooked and in the refrigerator in the morning, I would have no excuse not to make a quick hot rice cereal and eat it. It was perfect. Not so sweet it spiked my blood sugars, but sweet from the raisins and dash of maple.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup already cooked brown rice
  • 1 1/2 cups almond milk/rice milk/whatever milk substitute you have on hand
  • 1 Tbsp maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup raisins
  • a dash of cinnamon (or, if you love cinnamon as much as I do, a couple of dashes)
  • pinch of salt

Begin by heating milk on medium high heat. Add rice and cook for 5 to ten minutes, or until rice absorbs most of the milk and softens. Add maple syrup, raisins, salt, and cinnamon. Stir until combined. Serve and enjoy!

You could add any number of things to this- different dried fruits, fresh fruits, nuts, etc.

6 thoughts on “Cinnamon Raisin Hot Rice Cereal

  1. Abby's Kitchen says:

    I really love how simple, clean, and nutritious your recipes are! That’s the kind of food I love nourishing my body with 🙂

    Like

    • kayseartsandhealth says:

      I was thinking as I posted this that I should try to make more exciting recipes because mine are just aren’t interesting. So, thank you, I really needed to read your comment. I want to keep my recipes true to how I actually eat! Thank you!! 🙂

      Like

      • Abby's Kitchen says:

        Of course they’re interesting! I love your recipes!! That Wild Rice & Mushroom soup was a hit in our home! I’m still dying to try that Hearty Macrobiotic Soup. Please keep doing what you’re doing. I love your recipes the way they are ❤

        Like

Leave a Reply

