Crispy Baked Spring Rolls

IMG_0323

I love fresh spring rolls. I ate them at least once a week for about a year. I’d been wondering, though, if they could be baked. They can. Ohhhh they certainly can. I ate all five spring rolls I made. They were so delicious that when I finished eating, I felt drunk. I’m not kidding. This recipe is one of my new favorites.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 package bean thread noodles
  • 5-6 rice papers
  • 1 1/2 cups napa cabbage, sliced thinly
  • 1 cup carrots, julienned
  • 1 cup mushrooms, sliced thinly
  • 1/2 cup green onions, sliced thinly
  • sesame oil

Dipping Sauce

  • 1 Tbsp brown rice syrup
  • 2 tsp brown rice vinegar
  • 1 Tbsp coconut aminos (or tamari, if you can tolerate soy)
  • 2 tsp sesame oil

Bring a pot of water to a boil. Meanwhile, pour one tablespoon sesame oil in a skillet and place over medium heat. Saute mushrooms until tender. Remove from heat and place on a plate. Saute carrots until tender, adding more oil if necessary. Remove from heat and place on plate with mushrooms. Saute cabbage until tender. Remove from heat and place on a plate. Saute green onions until tender. Remove from heat and place on plate.

Drop bean thread noodles into boiling water. Boil for 1-2 minutes until done, drain and set aside.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Fill a pan or bowl large enough to fit rice paper with hot water.

Wash counter top thoroughly. I find that rice paper sticks to cutting boards, so I roll my spring rolls right on the counter top.

Dip rice paper sheet into hot water and submerge for 10-30 seconds. Remove and drain off excess water. Lay flat on counter top.

IMG_0314

Fill rice paper sheet with noodles, cabbage, carrots, mushrooms, and green onions. Lay them out flat in a horizontal fashion.

IMG_0315

Fold in one side of the rice paper perpendicular to the direction of the vegetables. Fold over the opposite side as well.

IMG_0318

Fold up the bottom flap and wrap around the vegetables and push under so that it pushes everything in tight. Pull the top flap over and wrap around tight. Repeat this process with the remaining ingredients.

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper place each spring roll on pan, without them touching. Paint each spring roll with a bit of sesame oil.

Bake in preheated oven for 15 minutes, flip to other side, and bake for an additional 15 minutes, or until golden and crispy.

While spring rolls are baking, whisk together dipping sauce.

Remove spring rolls from oven and let cool. They will be very hot. When cool enough to eat, serve with dipping sauce and enjoy.

IMG_0321

7 thoughts on “Crispy Baked Spring Rolls

  1. Abby's Kitchen says:

    Another great meal to make. Good thing I bought rice wrap the other day, and I have all the veggies in the recipe. Yay! Maybe tomorrow I can make them.YUM!! 😀

    Like

  2. Abby's Kitchen says:

    I made them today for lunch and they were delicious! I used coconut aminos, coconut nectar, and coconut vinegar (it’s what I had available) for the dipping sauce. Thanks so much for another great recipe! Thumbs up from my hubby & son too!! Btw I shared a link to your recipe on Welcome to Abby’s Kitchen fb page. Hope you don’t mind 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

