Applique Headband DIY

IMG_0766

This is another one of my I-saw-it-in-a-store-and-I-know-I-can-make-it-myself projects. I love the look of fancy headbands! Except that I wear a hat pretty much every day… Anyways, I had a pair of jeans that a good friend gave me that had beautiful appliques all over them. They didn’t quite fit me but I couldn’t quite part with the beautiful appliques. So, I cut them off of the jeans and found a use for them. Ever feel like an evil creative genius?

Supplies:

  • Appliques- in whatever sizes and colors suit you
  • Felt in a color that compliments your appliques if you can see through them
  • Hot glue
  • Sewing machine with coordinating thread– though, you could easily hand sew these, I just happened to have my machine out
  • Elastic– or elastic headbands, I made my own because I have a small head and store-bought ones always fall off

IMG_0736

Begin by hot gluing your appliques to the felt (you could sew them on, too, but glue is faster). Let cool and cut out applique shapes.

IMG_0745

 

If you are making your own headbands from elastic, measure them so that they wrap around your head tightly with about an inch of extra length. Fold the elastic in half and sew a seam a half inch from the ends. I sewed forward and reverse a few times so the seam stays put. Trim the excess ends about 2 millimeters from the seam. Flip so that the trimmed ends face inside.

IMG_0750

Put the headband on your head and place the applique where you’d like it to be on your head. Pinch the headband and applique together and pull it off your head so that the applique stays where you placed it. Sew one of the side edges of the applique to the headband. Place a few dots of glue along the headband up to where the other end of the applique will go. Squeeze tightly and then sew along the opposite side of your first seam.

Ta-da! That’s it!!! I made a few.. I couldn’t waste a single one of those darn cute appliques and I figured these would be fun gifts to give. Stay tuned to see what I did with the largest applique (you can see it in the second picture).

IMG_0771

(Also, yes, that is a kitchen shears. I couldn’t find my crafting scissors and my kitchen shears is super sharp! HAHA)

3 thoughts on “Applique Headband DIY

Leave a Reply

