Applique Statement Necklace DIY

IMG_0787

Yesterday, I shared my Applique Headband DIY and told you to stay tuned to see what I did with the largest applique. This is what I did! I made it into a big, bold necklace. I generally wear pretty plain clothing, so I like to have a few fun accessory options for when I’m feeling sassy. Between the four headbands I made and this necklace, I spent under 5 dollars, and under an hour.

Supplies

  • Large applique (I got mine from a pair of jeans from a friend)
  • Hot glue
  • Felt in a coordinating color
  • Thick necklace chain (I used the chain from some ugly old necklace I found at a thrift store lonnnnng ago)
  • Sewing needle and thread

IMG_0738

I began by using my hot glue to fasten my applique to felt and pressing it down to seal together well. I then trimmed all around the shape of the applique.

IMG_0777

I trimmed the chain to the length I needed in order for the applique to sit where I wanted it to.

IMG_0780

I then hand stitched one end of the chain to one end of the applique and knotted it tightly. Then, I did this on the other side.

That’s it! So easy, and it’s inexpensive!

Leave a Reply

