My Magical Little Mixture

IMG_0814

Once, long ago, I was researching natural deodorants… Don’t get me wrong, I don’t want to stink, but have you read the ingredients on a tube of deodorant?! Aluminum zirconium tetrachlorohydrex, PEG-8 distearate, cyclopentasiloxane…. What is this stuff?????? Scary! I’m not putting that under my arms, especially with all those lymph nodes in that area. Really, why try to eat clean if your skin is soaking in harsh chemicals anyway?

Now, I’ve tried most of the natural deodorant sticks on the market. Nothing really worked for me. Most often, they just made my underarms feel… greasy. One of the more popular options right now is the crystal deodorant stick; many of these still contain aluminum. Even with these natural deodorants, there were still plenty of ingredients I couldn’t identify.

So, I started looking for alternatives I could make for myself. I found quite a few recipes, usually using coconut oil as a base. But then I read that deodorants with coconut oil often times leave oil stains on the pits of your shirts… Not cool. Most of the recipes I found used baking soda as a deodorizer. And I read that cornstarch was good for absorbing dampness.

I decided to try experimenting with the simplest recipe possible. Aluminum-free baking soda and non-GMO cornstarch. That’s it. I have found sooooo many other uses for this mixture now.

I mix a 3:2 ratio of baking soda to cornstarch in a jar and keep it in my bathroom.

Here are the ways I use it:

Underarm Deodorant: When I get out of the shower, I use my fingers to pat it onto my damp armpits. It works pretty well for me, supposing I am not going to work all day (I work in a hot kitchen), then going to the gym and running without reapplying. If I get sweaty, I just reapply and it keeps right on working. I want to get one of those old vintage pink powder puffs and use that. How fun would that be? So old Hollywood.

Toothpaste: I can’t identify most of the ingredients in most toothpastes either. So, I just wet down my toothbrush, dip it in the baking soda/cornstarch mixture, and put a drop of peppermint essential oil on top.

Face Mask: I like to mix this stuff with enough water to form a paste, then spread it onto my face and let it dry. Once it dries, I gently scrub my face with it as an exfoliant, and then wash it off.

Face Powder: I’ve used this stuff dusted on my face to prevent shine, and even as a setting powder for makeup.

Dry Shampoo: I’m no stranger to going an extra day (or two… ) without a shower. If my hair or bangs start to look a bit greasy, I just sprinkle a little of this powder into my roots and massage until it’s not visible. (I’ve read that brunettes can mix cocoa powder in homemade dry shampoo to make it less visible)

Sink Scrub: I often sprinkle it into my sink and scrub it out, then just rinse it with hot water. It helps remove stains and any soap buildup.

Sprinkled In My Shoes: This mixture works wonderfully sprinkled into shoes to help deodorize and absorb moisture. And really, whose shoes couldn’t use a little freshening up?

There are probably tons more uses than what I’ve thought of– baking soda can do so very much. I use it so often that I thought, well, I just have to share. If you know of any other uses for this, let me know! I’d love to hear them.

6 thoughts on “My Magical Little Mixture

  1. Laura says:

    So I tried an all-natural deodorant (several of them including baking powder) and my sweat is just too strong! It’s the one thing that I use that I’m not happy with the ingredients on, but I’m hoping the products will continue to improve!

    Like

Leave a Reply

