Macro Plate

IMG_1184-2

 

All winter, I feel like I’ve been hibernating. I haven’t been cooking anything extravagant. I’ve just been eating foods that I can digest well and are simple to make. I haven’t had the energy for much more since temperatures were below zero for months. Really, I left the house as little as possible just because it was sooooo cold. I’ve been reading about Macrobiotics and have been learning a lot. My diet has adapted to mostly consuming a macrobiotic meals, though, I still like to enjoy oven fries here and there. I think that one of the most important things about eating is to allow yourself the foods you love (so long as they don’t harm other beings, of course). Sometimes, I’m craving cookies, so I bake cookies and enjoy every bite. That doesn’t make me unhealthy, it just means I allow myself to enjoy the not-so-healthy things I crave in moderation. Back to this Macro Plate….

There really isn’t a recipe for anything pictured here. I’ll just tell you what the elements are…

  • Adzuki beans- rinsed, soaked, and cooked. Seasoned with a little sea salt. I like the flavor of them, so I think that’s all they need.
  • Sauerkraut- I love sauerkraut. I’ve been experimenting with making my own but haven’t made a great batch yet. So for now, I buy it in a jar– with just cabbage, salt, and water for the ingredient list.
  • Brown rice- I eat brown rice every single day. I looooove it. It’s simple, nourishing, and easy to digest. If I’m just eating mine as a side, like here, I season it with a dash of mirin and a dash of brown rice vinegar, and a pinch of salt. That’s it!
  • I’ve been steaming vegetables almost every day this winter. They just keep their fresh flavor then and remind me that spring might come. HA! I decided to try to steam mushrooms with my veggies one day– mushrooms steam beautifully! They’re soooo tasty. I just steamed cauliflower, brussels sprouts, carrots, and mushrooms and sprinkled them with a dash of sea salt.
  • Arame- I eat a lot of various seaweeds. I just soaked a few pinches of arame in water for a few minutes, then steamed it. I seasoned it with a dash of sesame oil, a dash of brown rice vinegar, and sprinkled it with sesame seeds.
  • Sprouts- I sprouted a mix of radish, fenugreek, and clover seeds. I did a post called How To Sprout a while back if you want to sprout your own seeds. It’s easy and delicious! And inexpensive!

As you can see, I’ve got a variety of cool and warm foods, proteins and carbs, a variety of colors and flavors, cooked and raw. It’s soooo great!

 

 

10 thoughts on “Macro Plate

  1. Susan Edelman says:

    I love this!! I don’t ever prepare seaweed, so I think I’ll try it! I do order a great seaweed salad at a local spot, and it’s one of my favorite things. But I love this whole plate! I’m bookmarking.

    Like

  2. said-simply says:

    Kayse, every single thing on that plate looks scrumptious. I enjoy steamed veggies, love brown rice, and sauerkraut too. I like reading about your process and enjoy discovering new, yummy foods that are good for the body.

    Like

  3. Penniless Veggie says:

    This is the second post from my blogroll today that’s made me think about exploring ‘macro bowls.’ I’m definitely going to adopt this approach for the Spring. When I’ve eaten macrobiotically previously my plates were no-where near as full of variety; I think I was still too stuck in the classic ‘protein / carb / veg’ trinity of components (eg: sauteed tofu, brown rice, steamed kale) typical to mainstream western diets. Daft really when I think of it, but there’s absolutely no reason to be so rigidly formulaic! And lots of love here for sauerkraut too, we always have a jar of it in the fridge.

    Like

Leave a Reply

