Essential Oil Perfume DIY

IMG_1932

I love the effects of essential oils. I used to really love wearing different kinds of perfume, but when I started switching over to using natural body care products, I realized how nasty the ingredients of those perfumes were. I started wearing essential oils for fragrance and I can’t believe I didn’t start sooner! It’s so much nicer to smell like something that is naturally occurring, rather than chemicals.

I made myself four blends… One that is earthy and grounding, one that is uplifting and awakening, one that is sweet and warming, and one that is clean and relaxing. I did a little research on blending essential oils. There are three categories of scents- top notes, middle notes, and base notes. Top notes are scents that usually evaporate within an hour or two, middles notes evaporate within 2-4 hours, and base notes linger longest. It’s nice to have a blend of some of each. There’s a great list of which ones are which here. Using the information I read about the types of scents and my own personal instincts, I started blending, taking notes along the way so I knew how much of each I used. I worked outside so the scents of the oils wouldn’t overwhelm me.

Supplies

  • 4 glass bottles with roller tops- I got mine here (they also have tonnnnns of essential oils and carrier oils, and lots of other great stuff)
  • Essential oils- use pure and organic, if possible
  • Carrier oil- I used grapeseed oil

Grounding Blend:

  • 5 drops Pine Needle
  • 10 drops Sandalwood
  • 5 drops Patchouli
  • 10 drops Cedarwood
  • 5 drops Sage
  • 5 drops Frankincense
  • 5 drops Marjoram
  • Carrier oil to fill rest of bottle

Awakening Blend:

  • 5 drops Peppermint
  • 5 drops Rosemary
  • 5 drops Eucalyptus
  • 5 drops Bergamot
  • 5 drops Marjoram
  • 5 drops Sage
  • 5 drops Lavender
  • 5 drops Ginger
  • 5 drops Frankincense
  • 5 drops Patchouli
  • Carrier oil to fill rest of bottle

Warming Blend:

  • 10 drops Sage
  • 10 drops Sandalwood
  • 5 drops Tangerine
  • 5 drops Frankincense
  • 5 drops Bergamot
  • 10 drops Vanilla
  • Carrier oil to fill rest of bottle

Relaxing Blend:

  • 15 drops Lavender
  • 10 drops Frankincense
  • 10 drops Cedarwood
  • 5 drops Pine Needle
  • 5 drops Sage
  • 2 drops Peppermint
  • Carrier oil to fill rest of bottle

Note*- If you’re going to do this, test the oils (blend 2-3 drops with a carrier oil and apply to your skin) first to see if you have any skin reactions to them or don’t tolerate certain scents well… I personally get a headache from jasmine and rose. Some oils can cause allergic reactions and people with certain medical conditions can react to certain oils. I am not a professional aromatherapist, I just have the information I’ve read in certain books and from my own experiences.

6 thoughts on “Essential Oil Perfume DIY

  1. eseelen says:

    I am so glad you posted this! I am collecting oils right now to make natural bug and tick repellent for long hikes, but I didn’t think to make my own perfume! So awesome

    Like

Leave a Reply

