Wild Rice Pilaf

Wild Rice Pilaf

It’s still pretty cold here. I feel like we’re going to skip spring entirely and all of a sudden it’s going to be 95 degrees and humid. It’s been raining for quite a few days and if it continues, it looks like part of the road a mile up the street might flood. On the upside, when the temperature cracks fifty degrees and the sun shines, I’m incredibly grateful.

Since it’s still cold, I’ve still been craving the kinds of foods I like best in winter… Like wild rice. And in my opinion, broccoli is it’s perfect companion. This dish is great as a side or just as a one pot meal.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup brown rice, cooked
  • 1 cup wild rice, cooked
  • 1/2 yellow onion, diced
  • 2 stalks of celery, diced
  • 3 medium sized carrots, sliced thinly
  • 1-2 cups broccoli, chopped
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1 Tbsp sesame oil

Heat oil in large skillet over medium heat.

Add onion and saute until translucent. Add celery. Saute for two minutes, then add carrots and broccoli.

Season with salt. Saute vegetables until tender.

Add rice and cook until rice is warmed through. Serve and enjoy.

3 thoughts on “Wild Rice Pilaf

  1. Laura says:

    This pilaf looks amazing! We really need to find a way to get together this summer since I think we’re pretty close! Are you going to be around Minneapolis fir the marathon in June?

    Like

    • Kayse says:

      Laura! So sorry, I read this comment the other day and thought I’d already answered it! I wasn’t planning on being at that marathon… I’ll have to see what my schedule looks like that day! I was going to see if you were interested in Farm Sanctuary’s Walk for Farm Animals.. It’s in September, I believe. I’ve got plans to go to Fargo sometime this summer, perhaps we even could meet then?

      Like

Leave a Reply

