Strawberry Basil Lemonade

IMG_2953

It’s sunny today! Finally. I’ve been outside alllllll day. I am so thrilled with the warmer weather. It makes me want to garden, but the new garden spaces have some work to be done before I can plant. So instead, I’ve been painting outside and I’m going to do homework (I can’t believe I’m doing homework again). It’s perfect weather for drinking lemonade, recovering from dancing too hard last night, and pretending the weekend isn’t almost over.

Here’s a little twist on plain lemonade that I made to use up some things in the refrigerator.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup strawberries, sliced
  • 1 handful fresh basil
  • Juice of two lemons
  • 1 Tbsp brown rice syrup (optional)
  • Filtered water

In a pitcher, stir together water, brown rice syrup, and lemon juice until combined. Give the handful of basil leaves a twist to bruise them and release their oils a little, then toss into pitcher with strawberries. Refrigerate for a half hour or up to overnight before serving. Enjoy in the sunshine!

IMG_2965

4 thoughts on “Strawberry Basil Lemonade

Leave a Reply

