DIY Bodycon Skirt from a Sweater

IMG_3033

I didn’t have a sewing machine for the last few months.. Except for that amount of time, I’ve had one ever since I was a little kid. I used to sew all the time when I was young. It’s really therapeutic, unless your machine is acting up and the thread is jamming..  Then, it’s about the opposite of therapeutic.

Not long ago, I helped one of my best friends move, and in return she gave me her spare machine. It’s the first machine I’ve ever had that isn’t a hand-me-down from the sixties or seventies. Not that my older machines weren’t great (the designs in the manuals for them were AWESOME), but they all needed more tuning up than my new machine. So, I’ve been catching up on a pile of sewing projects that I’ve had hanging about..

A while back, I wrote this post about my super simple legwarmers I’d made from sweater sleeves. I said that I’d write about what to do with the remaining part of the sweater, so here it is, now that I have a sewing machine..

IMG_2999

Supplies

  • Old sweater, preferably one with a finished hem on bottom, like a ribbed knit band, for example
  • Elastic
  • Sewing machine and thread
  • Chalk
  • Scissors

IMG_3002

Begin by measuring a piece of elastic that is one inch longer than your natural waist.

Next, flip the sweater inside out. Lay an already existing bodycon skirt on top of the sweater, lining up the bottom of the sweater with the bottom of the skirt. Lay it so that the side of the skirt matches up with one of the side seams of the sweater.

IMG_3005

Trace the sides of the skirt that are not touching the bottom seam or the side seam of the sweater. Cut along the top mark, but not the side mark.

IMG_3007

Sew a straight stitch along the chalk-marked side seam. Cut 1/4 to a 1/2 inch outside this new seam.

IMG_3015

Sew a zigzag stitch on the freshly cut outer edge of the straight stitch. This will help keep it from fraying.

IMG_3021

Fold your elastic in half. Sew a zigzag stitch up and down a few times, 1/2 inch from the end of the raw edge of elastic. Flip so that the seam faces the inside

Then, fold over the top, raw edge of the sweater material about a half an inch and sew with a zig zag stitch to keep it from unraveling.

IMG_3029

Pin the top edge of the fabric, the edge that you just sewed with a zigzag stitch, to the edge of the elastic. You can either sew the fabric to the outside of the elastic, or to the inside, depending on your preference for the waistband. Sew with a straight stitch. Trim any excess thread.

That’s it! It took me less than twenty minutes to complete!

IMG_3046

3 thoughts on “DIY Bodycon Skirt from a Sweater

  1. said-simply says:

    Kayse this is a creative and frugal way to re-purpose something that might otherwise wind up abandoned to one’s drawer or under a pile of more desirable pieces of clothing. I think its pretty smart too! Good work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

