Basil Breakfast Potatoes

IMG_3327

I looooove having a wonderful breakfast before work. My day always goes better when I’ve begun it by taking good care of myself and making myself something good to eat. I’m a big fan of potatoes.. They can be prepared in such a wonderful variety of ways. I think potatoes (especially oven fries) are my number one comfort food.

My local co-op got some reallllly great fresh basil in and I had used a good portion of mine up, but wanted to find a use for the rest. I thought it’d be the perfect way to add some fresh spring flavor to some breakfast potatoes! Yum!

Ingredients

  • 3-4 medium sized potatoes, washed and diced (I used yellow potatoes, they’re my favorite)
  • 1/2 yellow onion, diced
  • 2-3 cloves fresh garlic, minced
  • 1 small handful fresh basil, cut into a chiffonade
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tsp sea salt (or more to taste)
  • 1 tsp black pepper

Heat oil in skillet over medium heat. Toss in potatoes and saute for 5 minutes, allowing sides to brown.

Add onions, garlic, salt, and pepper. Cover and allow to steam until potatoes are cooked through. Add 1/4 cup water if necessary.

Once potatoes are tender, add basil and stir to combine. Serve alongside some steamed greens or veggies and enjoy!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Basil Breakfast Potatoes

  1. said-simply says:

    After lots of experimenting with cilantro I finally discovered using it sparingly is best because it can have an overwhelming flavor. I really love subtly including it in certain dishes for that cool, unique cilantro flavor.

    Like

Leave a Reply

