Marinated Veggie Kebabs

IMG_4482

Last fall, when I moved back near my sister, we had a tradition of weekly dinners together. As we both got busier and our schedules started to change, our dinners became infrequent. Lately, though, one night a week my nieces are at my sister’s in-laws and my brother-in-law is out of town for work. So, once again, our sister dinners are back on, and this time, without the kids… I certainly enjoy time with my beautiful nieces, but it’s really something special to get time for just my sister and I. 

This week, we decided we wanted to grill. Kebabs sounded perfect, so when I got home from work, I started marinating the veggies. I then went across the street to my neighbor’s house to visit and help weed her strawberry patch (their home is my dream farm, so I’ll take any excuse to go hang around there). I got back home and my sister arrived, and we went to start the grill, but it was out of gas! I really would prefer a charcoal grill, but this is what I’ve got for now. Anyway, neither of us felt like going back toward town to fill the tank, so we turned on the broiler in the oven and roasted our kebabs that way. They still turned out wonderfully delicious and fueled us up for folding laundry and grocery shopping. Ahhhh, sisterhood.. I love being able to enjoy the simple things with someone who just gets it.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup mushrooms, halved
  • 1/2 red onion, chopped into large chunks
  • 1 bell pepper, chopped into large chunks
  • 1 zucchini, chopped into large chunks
  • 1/2 cup pineapple, chopped into large chunks

Marinade:

  • Juice of one lemon
  • 1/4 cup mirin
  • 1 Tbsp dijon mustard
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 2 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper

Whisk together marinade ingredients and pour into a shallow cake pan. Dump in all chopped vegetables and toss to coat. Allow to marinade for at least a half hour. Ideally, you could mix everything together in the morning and let it sit in the refrigerator all day and get really flavorful.

Grill Method 

Heat grill to medium-high; clean and lightly oil hot grates. Place skewers on hot grates and grill, covered, for 10-15 minutes, until veggies are tender. Remove from grill and serve. 

Oven Method

Turn oven to broil. Carefully poke all vegetables onto skewers and set on top of a sheet pan. Put pan in oven and broil for 15 minutes to a half an hour, until veggies are tender. Remove from oven and serve. This goes great with a rice pilaf!

 

IMG_4486

3 thoughts on “Marinated Veggie Kebabs

Leave a Reply

