Fresh Spring Rolls

IMG_3896

One of my favorite meals for the last few summers has been spring rolls. They’re so fresh and delicious! And really, they’re pretty easy to make. My sister and I made these together… My mom calls often to ‘order’ spring rolls from me hahaha! I’ve even gotten my meat-and-potatoes dad to eat them too!

So, simply put, these are a spring and summer basic in my repertoire. 

IMG_3891

Ingredients

  • Rice paper
  • Bean thread noodles or brown rice maifun
  • 1 handful cilantro or basil
  • 2 green onions, sliced into strips
  • 1/2 avocado, sliced into strips
  • 1/2 red bell pepper, sliced into strips
  • 1 carrot, sliced into strips (I find it’s easiest to use a peeler to make ribbons and then slice those)
  • 1/2 cucumber, sliced into strips
  • 1 lime for squeezing

Bring a pot of water to a boil. Drop bean thread noodles into boiling water. Boil for 1-2 minutes until done, drain and set aside.

Fill a pan or bowl large enough to fit rice paper with hot water.

Wash counter top thoroughly. I find that rice paper sticks to cutting boards, so I roll my spring rolls right on the counter top.

Dip rice paper sheet into hot water and submerge for 10-30 seconds. Remove and drain off excess water. Lay flat on counter top.

Fill rice paper sheet with a small handful of noodles and a few strips of each vegetable and a pinch of fresh basil or cilantro. Lay them out flat in a horizontal fashion.

Fold in one side of the rice paper perpendicular to the direction of the vegetables. Fold over the opposite side as well.

Fold up the bottom flap and wrap around the vegetables and push under so that it pushes everything in tight. Pull the top flap over and wrap around tight. Repeat this process with the remaining ingredients.

Serve with fresh lime slices to squeeze on top or with a peanut dipping sauce. Enjoy, preferably in the sun.

IMG_3901

5 thoughts on “Fresh Spring Rolls

Leave a Reply

