Watercolor Wednesday

IMG_6975

I like this Watercolor Wednesday thing! It assures that I’ll take at least one day a week to paint… I’ve had a really busy spring and my summer probably won’t slow down, so I’ve been making a point of taking time to do the things that calm me and fulfill me, like painting and doing yoga and spending lotsssss of time outside.

In order to paint this one, I did a little research on the meaning of the bear as a spirit animal. I wanted to capture the elements of a bear that are powerful, courageous, and grounding. I read that the bear spirit is associated with female shamans in a few different cultures, which I found pretty exciting. I like that one of the more powerful animals on earth is associated with women! So, I did my best to capture the strength, confidence, independence, and strong grounding forces of the bear spirit.

Leave a Reply

