Watermelon Basil Lemonade

IMG_9450

I’m so happy for summertime. Even though my schedule has felt busier than I would like it to, the weather has generally been gorgeous. I’ve been taking every opportunity to be outside. My garden is swallowing up a large portion of that outside time. There has been so much rain lately, that the weeds are almost impossible to keep up with. It takes about 3-4 hours to weed my entire garden, every few days.

On my days off, which rarely feel like days off,  I’ve been treating myself to some time lounging on the back porch, reading books and eating watermelon or strawberries. I crave watermelon every day, all summer long. For some reason though, I didn’t plant it in my garden, which seems quite silly. I’ll have to write a reminder in my garden journal to do so next year.

Without further ado, here’s the recipe for one of many ways that I like to incorporate watermelon into my summer days…

IMG_9454

This picture is awkward hahaha!!! I can’t stop laughing at it, but maybe it’s not that awkward and I’m just tired!

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups watermelon chunks
  • Juice of 2-3 lemons
  • handful of fresh basil (mine came from my garden, weeeee!)
  • 1-2 Tbsp sweetener of your choice (I actually didn’t use any and it was tarttttt…)

Blend all ingredients in a blender until smooth. Pour through mesh strainer to remove pulp, reserving the juice. Pour the juice into a glass and toss the pulp (into your compost?!). Drink and enjoy, preferably in the sunshine!

IMG_9444

7 thoughts on “Watermelon Basil Lemonade

Leave a Reply

