Vegan Creamy Cucumber Salad and Fourth of July Recipe Roundup

IMG_9486

My sister and her daughters were coming over the other day to grill, and I wanted some good, cool, summery sides to serve with our dinner. My mom makes a creamy cucumber salad with mayo that was a summer staple when we were growing up and I wanted a new salad to mimic that one.

I’m not a fan of using vegan mayo, and a cashew dressing was not in my budget. But, avocados… I always have avocados around. And they make a wonderful base to creamy dressings. My sister tasted this cucumber salad and immediately said, “You have to bring this to holidays!”. It’s perfect for summer holidays and cookouts. It tastes a bit like our mother’s salad, just lighter and fresher.

Also, the longer you let it marinade, the more the onion flavor will come out.

IMG_9491

Ingredients

  • 2 medium sized cucumbers, peeled, halved the long way, and sliced
  • 1/2 yellow onion, sliced into thin strips
  • 3 avocados, peeled and pitted
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 Tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 small handful of fresh basil, fresh parsley, and fresh dill (I got them from my garden, yum!)
  • 1 Tbsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper

Place sliced cucumbers and onions into a bowl and sprinkle with a touch of salt. Let them sit for a half hour. Meanwhile, blend all remaining ingredients to make the dressing. If it’s still a little too thick, add almond milk one tablespoon at a time. You want it smooth and creamy.

When dressing is blended, pour over cucumbers and stir to coat. Cover and place in refrigerator for a half hour, or up to overnight. Serve cold and enjoy!

IMG_9488

 

A little summer cookout and Fourth of July recipe roundup for you….

Serve some fun drinks!

IMG_9450

Watermelon Basil Lemonade

IMG_0731

Orange Berry Spritzer

And a good salad, too!

IMG_9093-2

 

Marinated Kale Salad with Grilled Nectarines

Grill These!

IMG_4486

Marinated Veggie Kabobs

Don’t Forget Appetizers…

IMG_3901

Fresh Spring Rolls

 

Avocado Ranch Dip 3

Vegan Avocado Ranch Dip 

 

I hope everyone has a lovely time celebrating the fourth of July!

8 thoughts on “Vegan Creamy Cucumber Salad and Fourth of July Recipe Roundup

    • Kayse says:

      Oh my goodness, Laura! I just found this comment in my trash folder and I have no idea how it got there! So, a belated thank you! hahah! I can’t believe the fourth was already this long ago!

      Like

  1. Abby's Kitchen says:

    My cucumbers are coming in our garden. Have to try that cucumber salad. Sounds great! Everything else does as well! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

