Blueberry, Buckwheat, and Chia Parfait

IMG_9505

When it comes to waking up in the morning for work, I’ll push snooze again and again, any day. (On my days off, I happily pop out of bed earlier than on a workday and usually head straight into my garden.) Since I know I feel better all day if I eat a good breakfast, I’ve learned that the best thing I can do is prep my breakfast the night before. I usually have a pretty huge appetite in the morning, so I try to eat something dense with a variety of nutrients and good doses of carbohydrates, fiber, and protein. This parfait has all of that… And it’s delicious! It’s also great as a snack and can easily be taken along when travelling.

When I first made it, I didn’t know what to expect from soaked buckwheat.. I really like the flavor! The texture is interesting. It stays a little bit crunchy, and in a parfait like this, it reminds of granola. And, if you didn’t already know it, buckwheat is gluten free!

IMG_9504

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup buckwheat groats
  • 1/4 cup chia seeds
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 cup vanilla almond yogurt
  • 1/3 cup blueberries
  • dash of cinnamon
  • dash of maple syrup (optional- I personally just love the flavors of maple, cinnamon, and blueberries together)

Soak buckwheat groats for 8 hours or overnight. Rinse thoroughly (they’ll be gummy if you don’t rinse them well).

Stir together chia seeds and almond milk. Refrigerate for 8 hours or overnight.

Spoon in ingredients layer by layer. Top with a dash of cinnamon and a dollop of maple syrup. I like tossing these together in a mason jar so I can take them along with me to work. Enjoy!

IMG_9502

2 thoughts on “Blueberry, Buckwheat, and Chia Parfait

Leave a Reply

