Grilled Eggplant ‘Steaks’

IMG_5527 copy

I have had a fabulous week! On Monday, I climbed rocks at my favorite local park. On Tuesday, I took myself on a little roadtrip to Inspiration Peak. On Wednesday, I met up with a very close friend at her friend’s dad’s farm. (Which was amaaaaaazing! Orchards, gardens, vineyards, and a lovely, lovely house. I neglected to bring my camera, though and I am soooo disappointed I didn’t.)  Of course, all of these wonderful adventures were done in lieu of Watercolor Wednesday. After I got off work today, I changed my clothes and grabbed my backpack in order to head to a local park. It’s become one of my favorite places to sit and enjoy. In fact, it’s the same place I went to on Monday. When I got home, I harvested some wonders from the garden, and assessed all of my produce to make some decisions about dinner.

At the farm I was at last night, the hosts were kind enough to send me home with an armful of produce, including two BEAUTIFUL eggplants. Now, I don’t usually go out and buy eggplants… For some reason or another, I thought I didn’t like them, but today I realllllly proved myself wrong. I think I’d only had eggplants that had been cooked in lots of oil and were dense and heavy, but, not these! They grill up really nicely! I served them alongside a salad and grilled baby red potatoes. This entire week has been full of blessings!

IMG_5521

Ingredients:

  • 1 eggplant, sliced into 1/2 thick rounds
  • 2 Tbsp Coconut aminos (or soy sauce or any other soy sauce alternative)
  • 1 tsp seasoned salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper

Pour coconut aminos over eggplant slices and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Allow to marinade for a half hour before grilling.

Heat grill to medium heat.

Place slices of eggplant on grill rack. Grill for 10 minutes, then flip. Grill for another 10 minutes and flip. Grill for an additional ten minutes, or until tender.

Serve (with steak sauce if you like!) and enjoy!

Don’t forget to check out the Virtual Vegan Linky Potluck!!! 

IMG_5525

5 thoughts on “Grilled Eggplant ‘Steaks’

Leave a Reply

