Asian Stye Buckwheat Soba Noodle Soup

IMG_5718

As the weather starts to cool, I’m starting to crave soups again. And pasta! Lots and lots of pasta!!! I’ve got these amazing carrots in my garden— purple dragon carrots (my niece realllllly loves them). They’re purple on the outside and goldish-orange on the inside. I’ve been cooking up soooo many meals with ingredients from my garden. I reminded my dad the other day that he had a tomato in his fridge, and he said, “I don’t want that one. It’s storebought. I want the tomatoes from your garden.” And I feel the same way. I don’t want gardening season to end! In Minnesota, the gardening season is so short that it’s truly sad.

Good thing there is good soup like this to keep me from remembering that it won’t be long before my garden gets covered in frost.

IMG_5720

Ingredients

  • 1/3 package 100% buckwheat soba noodles (buckwheat is GF)
  • 1 cup baby bok choy, chopped
  • 1 medium sized carrot, diced
  • 2 stalks green onions, sliced
  • 1/4 cup coconut aminos
  • 1 Tbsp brown rice vinegar
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 Tbsp sesame oil

Boil water in stockpot. Put noodles into boiling water and cook until al dente. Drain and set aside.

Pour 2 cups water into stockpot and bring to a boil. Reduce to simmer and pour in coconut aminos and brown rice vinegar, and sprinkle in salt.

Heat oil in skillet over medium heat. Saute carrots until tender, then set aside.

Saute bok choy until tender, then set aside.

Saute green onions until tender, then set aside.

In a bowl, arrange noodles, bok choy, carrots, and green onions and pour hot broth over the top. Serve and enjoy!

IMG_5713

 

Don’t forget about the Virtual Vegan Linky Potluck!!!!!VVLPButton1-300px

9 thoughts on “Asian Stye Buckwheat Soba Noodle Soup

Leave a Reply

