Apple Cider Vinegar Natural Facial Cleanser and Toner

Apple Cider Vinegar Natural Facial Cleanser and Toner

As I’ve expressed in quite a few posts before, I’m pretty picky about what I put on and in my body. My general rule is that if I can’t easily read an ingredient or don’t know what it’s sourced from, I won’t use it. I honestly cannot remember the last time I bought some sort of facial cleanser or any facial product.. It’s probably been about ten years. I’ve just been using a mild soap with warm water to cleanse my face, and I’ve been pretty successful. A few weeks ago, I was paging through the book my mom has on her coffee table about different uses for vinegar and I happened upon a paragraph about using it as a skin cleanser.

I figured I’d give it a go, and for a couple of weeks now, I’ve been using apple cider vinegar on my face. It works as a cleanser, astringent, and toner. I’ve noticed that my skin seems softer, smoother, and not oily. I don’t have acne, but sure, I do get blemishes. Perhaps coincidentally (but only time will tell), I’ve not had any breakouts since I started using this on my skin.

Apple Cider Vinegar has antibacterial and antifungal qualities as well as helps balance the pH levels of skin. It can sting a bit if you mix it too strongly, so be sure it’s diluted properly. From my research I found that some people with acne experienced their skin getting worse before it got better, but I think that holds true to switching almost any facial cleanser. Also, it does stink a little when you first put it on, but as it dries, the smell disappears.

The ingredients are simple and inexpensive….

1:4 Ratio of Organic Apple Cider Vinegar to filtered water (if you have really sensitive or dry skin, I would recommend starting with a 1:8 ratio, so that it’s more diluted and you can see how your skin reacts)

I pour my mixture into a small mason jar and keep it sealed on my bathroom shelf.

After I’ve washed my face with a mild soap and water, I dip a cottonball or cotton pad in this solution and wipe my face with it. I let it dry and add moisturizer if I feel I need it, but I find that the ACV wash cleanses my skin without drying it.

Have any of you ever made your own facial cleanser?

2 thoughts on “Apple Cider Vinegar Natural Facial Cleanser and Toner

  1. Lisa Anderson says:

    Yes! I love this cider toner too. It also get soap residue off your skin and get it back to your natural PH. When I bath my horse, I rinse her totally in vinegar water to make sure all the soap is off her skin so she doesn’t itch. My favorite toner right now is orange blossom water. It’s hydrating for more for dry skin. Maybe try it in the winter if your skin is drier during the season.

    Like

Leave a Reply

