Roasted Portobellos, Steamed Artichoke, Sweet Potato Fries and My Vegan Anniversary!

IMG_3167

I’m super super excited to be celebrating my three year vegan anniversary. I could care less about birthdays, but I get sooooooooooo very excited for my vegan anniversary.

Honestly, I cannot believe it’s only been three years. That’s not long at all. But it feels like it’s been an entire lifetime. It’s really amazing how different it feels to be really aware of the ingredients in the food I eat every day. I am so very grateful for every bit of wonderful plant-based food I’ve eaten in the last three years. Really, truly grateful.

To celebrate, I like to make a really great meal at the very least. Last year I made veggie sushi and had a bonfire with an old friend. Tonight, veggie sushi takeout and a lazy night with my sister are in the plans. It’s pretty rare that we get to spend time together, just the two of us, without my nieces around. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE my nieces, but it really is nice to get to finish a conversation with my sister without someone wanting a snack or getting fingerprints all over my glasses. So, I plan on having a wonderfully quiet evening celebrating.

Onward, with the recipe…

I made this meal on Monday, actually, but the colors are so vibrant and beautiful that I wanted to share it for my vegan anniversary! Everything about this meal was absolutely scrumptious. I felt wonderfully spoiled, as a person should on their day off!

IMG_3166

Ingredients

  • 1 artichoke
  • 1-2 portobello mushrooms, depending on size
  • 1 small sweet potato
  • 1/4 cup brown rice
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1-2 cloves garlic, depending on preference, minced
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp mirin
  • 1 tsp umeboshi vinegar
  • optional: sliced radishes for a fresh crunchy element, pickled beets or any kind of pickle- these are from my garden.

IMG_3170

Begin by getting brown rice cooking. I use a rice cooker and seriously, I don’t know if I’ll ever choose to cook rice in a pot again.

While rice is cooking, preheat oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.

Slice sweet potato into fries. Drizzle with half of the olive oil and sprinkle with a dash of salt and toss. Lay out flat on a parchment lined cookie sheet and place in oven. Roast for 30 minutes or until insides are tender but outside have a slight crunch.

Place cleaned portobellos on small roasting pan. Drizzle with remaining oil, mirin, and umeboshi vinegar. Sprinkle with minced garlic and a dash of salt. Place in oven 10 minutes after sweet potatoes. Roast until tender, about 20 minutes

Put a pot of water on to boil. Place a steamer basket with a lid inside. When mushrooms go into the oven to roast, place whole artichoke in steamer basket.  Steam until tender, about 20 minutes. If you don’t know how to prepare or eat an artichoke, here’s a quick article. I didn’t know what part to eat until just a few months ago!!

When all ingredients have finished cooking, serve with a pickle of some kind and garnish with some kind of cold, fresh, crunchy vegetable. Enjoy!!

IMG_3172

And don’t forget!!! Join or check out the Virtual Vegan Linky Potluck!!!

VVLPButton1-300px

13 thoughts on “Roasted Portobellos, Steamed Artichoke, Sweet Potato Fries and My Vegan Anniversary!

    • Kayse says:

      Thank you! Vegaversary is the perfect word.. Do you feel like three years doesn’t sound like much in comparison to how long it feels like you’ve been vegan?

      Like

Leave a Reply

