Vegan, Gluten-free, Soy-free Chocolate Chip Cookies

chocolatechipcookies2

I hope everyone had a lovely Thanksgiving weekend! I spent time with my dad’s family, a large, loud, lively bunch. As usual, the only plant-based dishes there was the salad and pilaf that I brought. Oh well, that’s central Minnesota for you. I can’t believe it’s almost the end of 2014! Does time go faster every year you get older, or are we all just so busy that time seems to speed up? Either way, I’m doing my best to commit to less, spend less time in front of a screen, and enjoy peace and quiet.

So, now that Thanksgiving is over, it seems like everyone’s getting all excited for Christmas. I, for one, am not a huge fan of Christmas. There’s too much fuss about shopping and buying disposable things. I am a total grinch, I know, I know.

These cookies, though, they help keep me from being extra grinchy. I generally avoid baking with sugar but these were a treat, and I shared them so I wouldn’t eat them all myself! Grinches need Christmas cookies, too!

  • 3/4 cup organic brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil, softened
  • 2 1/3 cups Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/4 cup almond milk (or any milk alternative), room temperature
  • 2 tablespoons pure maple syrup
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 1 1/4 cup dairy free chocolate chips- I like Enjoy Life Mini Chips because they’re free of soy, too

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

In a medium bowl, whisk flour, baking powder, salt, and baking soda together so that they’re combined.

In a separate bowl, or mixer (I used my $29 thrifted Kitchenaid that I’m still excited about!), cream together the sugar and oil. Add in remaining liquid ingredients and stir together until combined.

Add flour mixture and chocolate chips. Stir together until just combined.

Scoop golf ball sized balls of dough onto parchment lined baking sheet and flatten slightly with fingers.

Bake for 8-10 minutes- they will still be soft.

Cool, serve, and enjoy!

chocolatechipcookies1

 

 

Don’t forget about the Virtual Vegan Linky Potluck 23!

4 thoughts on “Vegan, Gluten-free, Soy-free Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

