Simple and Quick Zucchini Pasta Salad

simple and quick zucchini pasta salad

Hey, friends! I hope everyone is having an amazing 2015 thus far. Mine’s been a bit of a blur, but I’m looking forward to a long weekend this weekend and my only plans are crafting (and making tacos?!) with one of my besties.

A few months ago I started working as a graphic designer at an awesome little place a few towns over… I’m really loving it, but on the nights I work I don’t get home till 5:30 or 6 and since it gets dark around here shortly after 5, I usually don’t feel like doing anything on work nights other than relax. So my nightly meals have been pretty simple lately.

IMG_5630

I was hungry for pasta the other night and thought about making something like my Fresh Garden Veggie Pasta recipe, but when I opened the fridge and remembered that I’d gone grocery shopping before visiting with friends and all my produce in my car had frozen. I ended up grabbing my tomatoes and zucchini because they were looking pretty rough from their below zero temperature exposure, and decided on zucchini pasta. It was super refreshing and came together really quickly.

IMG_5623

Ingredients

  • 1 large zucchini
  • 1/4 of a medium sized yellow or white onion, sliced thinly
  • 1/4 cup grape tomatoes, sliced

Dressing (this is the vinaigrette I end up making almost every time I need one because it’s so simple and quick):

  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 2 Tbsp Apple Cider Vinegar
  • 1/4 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper

This would also be amazing with my Roasted Garlic Vinaigrette dressing too!

Directions:

I peeled my zucchini in this case because the skin was so damaged from it getting frozen, but you absolutely wouldn’t need to!

If you have a spiralizer, use it to make the zucchini into noodles. I do not (yet!), so I used a vegetable peeler to peel the zucchini the long way and make long strips. Then, I took those strips and cut them thinly the long way. They aren’t perfect, but noodley shaped enough for me!

Toss the zucchini, tomatoes, and onion together.

Whisk dressing together and pour over the veggies. It may be more dressing than you need depending on the size of the zucchini you use.

Let marinade for a half hour for best flavor, or enjoy right away. I had mine on the side of delicious roasted portobello! Enjoy 🙂

IMG_5620

7 thoughts on “Simple and Quick Zucchini Pasta Salad

Leave a Reply

