Homemade Crunchy Taco Shells

IMG_5636

I really shouldn’t call these “homemade” necessarily.. They’re store bought soft tortillas made into crunchy hard shells. They’re sooooo much more delicious than the store bought hard shells. My sister made shells for me like this one day and I’ll never go back. Yummmmm yummmmm yummmmmmm. I really recommend trying taco shells this way.

I think I said the word ‘shells’ a whooooole lot in that paragraph.

Ingredients:

  • soft tortillas (I used corn, but my sister says she’s used wheat too!)
  • oil with a low smoke point (sunflower oil, for example)
  • fillings for your tacos– I filled mine with rice, black beans, sliced onion, sliced peppers, sliced avocado, thinly slice lettuce, salsa, and hot sauce

IMG_5712

Heat oil in skillet over medium heat. When oil is hot, use tongs to lay one half of the tortilla in the oil and hold it there. It helps to put a butter knife in the middle of the tortilla to support it. After the half of the tortilla that’s in the oil has turned golden, flip it and fry the other side.

IMG_5714

Pull the tortilla out of the oil and rest it on a paper towel on a plate so any remaining oil drips off.

IMG_5637 IMG_5633

Fill with tons of delicious plant based foods and enjoy!!!!!

IMG_5645

3 thoughts on “Homemade Crunchy Taco Shells

Leave a Reply

