Amethyst and Pressed Flower Pendant Necklace DIY

Amethyst and Pressed Flower Pendant Necklace DIY

I was pretty absent from this space last week. It was a long, long week. My nieces got one of the viruses that has been going around, so I helped care for them (and got seriously vomited on, ughhhh), then my sister got it too. I spent quite a bit of time at my sister’s house last week… Just doing whatever I could to help them out (laundry, dishes, ya know, the stuff that piles up fast in a house with kids). Then my mother got a new cat and I spent a good amount of time snuggling him… Anddddd, then I got a cold. Oh, and helped a friend pack up to get ready to move a few hours away. So, it was a long long week. Yesterday, I just sat in my studio all day, creating and drinking tea and trying to revive my energy stores.

One of the things I created was this necklace… And I’m a tad infatuated with it. I created it in under ten minutes, too! I love a quick, cute DIY project.

IMG_5786

Supplies

  • Needlenose pliers
  • lighter or matches
  • superglue- looking for cruelty-free glue?
  • 1 large, flat stone bead- I used a piece of amethyst that was gifted to me, similar one here
  • 1 glass bead
  • 1 small pressed flower pendant, mine was 10 cents at a flea market, similar ones here and here
  • a six inch piece of hemp cord
  • a 2 foot piece of chain
  • 2 jump rings

IMG_5793

Slide the pendant onto the hemp cord, to the middle and tie a knot about a 1/4 inch up.

IMG_5798

Slide the glass bead onto the hemp cord so that it sits atop the knot. Make another knot about a half inch up from the bead.

IMG_5802

Slide the amethyst stone bead onto the hemp cord so that it sits atop the knot.

IMG_5804

On either side of the hemp string, about an inch and a half up from the amethyst bead, tie a jump ring. I double knotted mine.

IMG_5805

Trim the excess string from the knot– you want to leave a little so that it doesn’t just unravel.

IMG_5807

Using matches or a lighter, burn the tips of the hemp cord to fuse the fibers together. This will burn up pretty quickly, so expect to move fast.

IMG_5809

Drip glue onto either knot to fuse them tight. Allow it to dry.

IMG_5821

Attach the jump rings to either end of the chain using the needlenose pliers.  Tada! There you have it. A quick, simple necklace you created yourself using little elements of nature.

IMG_5813

Leave a Reply

