DIY Fringed Pouch Necklace

fringednecklacediy

Ever since I was a little kid, I’ve looooooved rocks. I would spend my days squatting in our long driveway collecting quartz, agates, granite, and a whole lotta stones I probably still couldn’t name. So, I’ve always had a rock collection… I even still have a lot of the stones I collected as a kid (including a piece of quartz that’s almost the size of my head that I dug out of our horse pasture!) I still carry stones in my pockets pretty much everyday. Sometimes, though I don’t want lumpy pockets (anyone else out there think it’s ridiculous that women’s pants are made with wayyyyy shallower pockets than men’s pants?! What am I supposed to store in these things?!) or I’m being lazy and wearing yoga pants. I decided to sew myself a pouch necklace to wear to carry stones (or wear it when you’re out and about- it’d fit money or an i.d.!). Here’s how I did it….

IMG_5887

Supplies

  • Sewing machine
  • Thread
  • 2 4×6 inch pieces of cotton jersey (or old t-shirt! That’s what I used)
  • 1 6×1/2 inch piece of cotton jersey
  • Scissors
  • Twine/hemp/yarn/string… Just make sure it’s not going to be itchy against your neck

IMG_5890

Begin with your 1/2 inch x 6 inch piece of fabric.

IMG_5893

Take the strip of fabric between your fingers and pull.

IMG_5894

It should turn into a string, like this.

IMG_5896

Take the remaining portion of fabric and along the two opposing long sides, fold the fabric over about a half and inch and sew a straight seam.

IMG_5899

Do this on the opposite long side.

IMG_5904

Fold top edge of fabric over by about a 1/2 inch. Sew along the bottom part of this fold so that you have an opening that you’ll be able to slide fabric string through. Do this on both pieces of fabric.

IMG_5907

Place fabric halves together with raw seams facing the inside. 2 1/2 inches down from the folded top edges, sew a straight seam across the short length of the pouch. Then sew from that bottom seam up toward the folded over edges, being sure not to sew the opening for your tightening string shut.

IMG_5910

Then, using a sharp scissors, cut the bottom portion of the fabric below the lowest seam into small strips.

IMG_5911

Grab the ends of the strips and pull, lengthening them and making them stringy.

IMG_5913

Then attach your necklace string. I used hemp twine and tied three knots throughout the section that would be sewn onto the pouch to keep the string from slipping out. Pin in place toward the outer edges of the sides of the pouch. Zigzag stitch over the string.

IMG_5920

Take the fabric string you made first and fold over the end. Attach a safety pin.

IMG_5922

Thread the fabric string through the slots you made at the top of the pouch. Use the safety to help you push the string through. Loop all the way through twice, so that the strings come out of the same side but opposing holes at the top.

IMG_5923

Fill with what you like and pull the strings tight. Wear over or under your clothes, filled with treasures.

IMG_5925 IMG_5929

Leave a Reply

