Roasted Cauliflower and Corn Chowder

IMG_5943-2

This might be my favorite soup I’ve ever made. It’s broth is creamy and flavorful, and the roasted corn provides a burst of sweet flavor in every bite. Cauliflower and potatoes are probably my favorite foods and provide a hearty base to the soup. Tossing the chickpeas in was a last minute thought, but they provide protein and add to the heartiness.

I actually first made and photographed this recipe a few weeks ago, and it’s been in my drafts folder.. I was cuddled up with my mom’s cat, watching Frida on Netflix (Frida Kahlo has been my favorite painter since I was a child), and started craving this soup today, then realised I never posted it! I’ve been busy lately and this space has been getting a lot less attention than I’d like to give it. I did take a break ALL weekend from any work, and it was so wonderful! I went with one of my lifelong friends on a roadtrip to Stillwater, then we went to one of our friend’s bachelorette parties, which included ice skating. I found out that I totally forgot how to skate! And before leaving Minneapolis in the morning, we stopped at Glam Doll Donuts. I hadn’t had a donut since going veg over three years ago, so I was willing to risk a wheat-induced headache to have a vegan donut.

IMG_1712 IMG_1710

I bought three donuts (I did bring half of each home to share with my dad and my sister). The Femme Fatale was the best donut I’ve ever had. If my giant smile doesn’t show it, I was so excited to be eating vegan donuts!

IMG_5935-2

Ingredients

  • 1 head cauliflower, chopped (remember that the pieces should be small enough to fit on a spoon)
  • 1 small yellow onion, diced
  • 4 cloves garlic, peeled and minced
  • 2 Tbsp sunflower oil, or any oil of your choice with a low smoking point
  • 3 stalks celery, diced
  • 2 large carrots, diced or cut into thin rounds
  • 3 red potatoes, diced
  • 2 cups frozen corn
  • 1 cup chickpeas, cooked and cooled or canned
  • 2 cups water or vegetable broth
  • 2 cups almond milk, more if necessary to obtain the amount of broth you like in your soup
  • 1 Tbsp sea salt (half this if using vegetable broth instead of water)
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp dried thyme
  • 1 tsp paprika

IMG_5939-2

Preheat oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.  Drizzle 1/2 Tbsp oil and a pinch of salt over chopped cauliflower and toss to coat. Pour in single layer onto cookie sheet and roast for 20-30 minutes, until cooked through and beginning to get small amounts of charring.

Ten minutes before cauliflower is finished, pour corn onto a cookie sheet and roast until slightly charred as well.

While cauliflower is roasting, heat remaining oil in stockpot and toss in onions and garlic. Saute until translucent and beginning to get golden.

Add celery and saute until beginning to soften. Pour in carrots and saute until beginning to soften. Add water/broth and milk as well as potatoes and seasonings.

Simmer until vegetables are tender. Remove roasted corn and cauliflower from oven and add to soup. Add chickpeas.

Simmer for 5-10 more minutes. Serve and enjoy.

IMG_5947-2

4 thoughts on “Roasted Cauliflower and Corn Chowder

Leave a Reply

