DIY Natural Fabric Softener

diynaturalfabricsoftener|arthealthandhappiness

Saturdays are my laundry day. I even hung all my bedding out in our screened in porch after they were dry… I loooove the smell of my blankets when they’ve been hanging out in the winter air. I’ve been using my homemade laundry detergent for….. three-ish years now? I love it! It’s honestly fun to cook up a big batch of laundry detergent… It makes me feel like a witch stirring my bubbling cauldron. Ha!! I love being able to create things for myself.

When I was tossing together my laundry this weekend, I realized I don’t use fabric softener. I don’t really need to use it because my homemade detergent works well enough but I wanted to try creating some anyway. Vinegar is great for whitening, softening fabrics, and removing static.  It doesn’t make your laundry smell like vinegar, either. So much simpler and more chemical free than store bought fabric softener.

IMG_6312

Ingredients

  • Half Gallon glass jar
  • Half gallon white vinegar
  • 100 drops of essential oils (I used lemon, lavender, cedarwood, eucalyptus, tangerine, and pine needle)

IMG_6322

Pour all ingredients into glass jar and shake up. Label if you like.

Add about a 1/2  cup during the rinse cycle for a medium sized load. Super simple, super inexpensive. Pretty effective without harsh chemicals.

IMG_6401

6 thoughts on “DIY Natural Fabric Softener

Leave a Reply

