Veggie-Filled Buckwheat Soba Miso Soup

IMG_6311

Mouthful of a title, but there are so many wonderful elements to this soup! I eat a lotta miso soup in the winter. I loveeeee miso. I’ve switched over to chickpea miso since finding out that soy tends to give me migraines, but it’s still got amazing flavor and is good for digestion and full of probiotics.

I like to quickly saute veggies and throw them in a bowl and pour hot miso broth over them. It’s quick and simple, and that’s generally what I’m all about when it comes to making a meal. Not to mention the immune boosting power of garlic, ginger, mushrooms, carrots, broccoli, kale, andddd miso… Pretty sure this soup is a bit of a bowlful of magic.

IMG_6284

Ingredients:

  • Adzuki beans, cooked
  • 2-3 cloves garlic, chopped large
  • 1-2 tsp fresh ginger, sliced
  • 1/2 cup broccoli florets
  • 1/3-1/2 cup sliced mushrooms
  • 2 medium sized carrots, julienned
  • 2-3 leaves kale, sliced into thin strips
  • Buckwheat soba noodles- they make them with a combo of wheat and buckwheat or just buckwheat, be sure to get only buckwheat if you have a sensitivity to gluten!
  • Sesame oil
  • 1 Tbsp Miso (I used chickpea miso to avoid soy)
  • 1 Tbsp Coconut Aminos (or any other soy sauce type substitute)
  • 1/2 Tbsp Brown Rice Vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp Sea Salt

Pour 2 cups filtered water into a stockpot and bring to a boil. Add garlic and ginger and boil for 10 minutes. Reduce heat. Add coconut aminos, vinegar, and sea salt and stir to combine. Just before serving, but not while the water is boiling, whisk in miso paste. Boiling miso eliminates it’s probiotic and medicinal properties.

While broth is simmering, cook noodles. When noodles are just cooked through, drain and rinse. They can be a bit slimy if you don’t rinse them after cooking. Then, place drained noodles in a soup bowl.

While broth is simmering and noodles are cooking, heat sesame oil on medium heat. When sauteing the vegetables, you must work quickly to keep them hot until serving.

Once oil is hot, saute broccoli until just tender and add to soup bowl.

Quickly saute mushrooms until tender and add to soup bowl.

Quickly saute julienned carrots and add to soup bowl.

Quickly saute kale and add to soup bowl.

If adzuki beans aren’t still hot from cooking, saute them as well and add to soup bowl.

Once all the veggies, beans, and noodles are added to the soup bowl, pour hot broth over the top, enough to cover. Serve.

IMG_6309

5 thoughts on “Veggie-Filled Buckwheat Soba Miso Soup

  1. BEAUTYCALYPSE says:

    Sounds delish. I love me my soba soups, too! Q: When you avoid all things soy-based, is it for GMO issues, because of its hormonal impact or because of an allergy? (BTW: Have never seen chickpea miso over here. Sounds definitely like worth trying)

    Like

    • Kayse says:

      I tend to get migraines from eating soy (and gluten!), but I don’t think I’d eat much of it even if that weren’t the case. Though, I do seriously miss tofu in some dishes. I get South River Miso at the co-op in my town. I loooove their miso!

      Like

      • BEAUTYCALYPSE says:

        Oh, poor you, got it.
        I have to check meat-free stuffs for gluten, soy sauce (=wheat based won’t do) all the time myself, so feel with you!

        Like

Leave a Reply

