Sweet and Sour Sauteed Brussels Sprouts

IMG_6557

Pretty much every Saturday night in the off season for both mine and my dad’s jobs, my sister, brother in law, nieces, my dad, and I get together and make dinner. It’s usually the highlight of my week every week.

They’re all omnivores (although one of my nieces picked all the meat out of her spaghetti the other night and announced that she was vegan… but then she ate a big old bowl of dairy ice cream haha gotta start somewhere, right?! I can only push so much info about veganism on a four year old that’s not my child without steppin’ on toes.). When I started this journey 3+ years ago, I was cooking alllll my food separately from theirs for family dinners. I mean half the potatoes with butter, half with olive oil, their meals on the grill, mine in the oven… But after they realized that my new eating habits weren’t just a phase, making meals together has gotten easier. Now we roast allll the potatoes in olive oil and the brussels sprouts get served with butter on the side. It’s a pretty darn cool change that I honestly didn’t think they’d adapt to.

Pretty much every single Saturday night, we have brussels sprouts with our dinner. We all love them. Loooove them. This is a new recipe we came up with last Saturday… My sister worked in various kitchens for 10-ish years and she’s always been a foodie. She’s sort of a super genius in the kitchen. Give that girl damn near any combination of ingredients and she’ll find a way to make it work. So, after we trimmed up our brussels last Saturday, I asked, “Steam them? Roast them?” She threw them in a frying pan and we started pulling ingredients out of the pantry to make a quick sweet, sour, and slightly spicy sauce to caramelize them in. They turned out soooooo tasty. Lilly, my 20-ish month old niece kept asking for “more bussel spout!”. I’d say that’s a win.

IMG_6549

Ingredients

  • 1 lb fresh brussels sprouts
  • 1/4 cup filtered water
  • 1 Tbsp Mirin
  • 2 Tbsp Apple Cider Vinegar
  • 1 Tbsp maple syrup (or organic brown sugar)
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp red chili flake
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  1. Wash and trim the brussels sprouts and cut them in half.
  2. Pour the water and brussels sprouts into a pan and cover. Simmer/steam until just tender, adding more water if needed. Remove cover.
  3. Pour in acv, mirin, maple syrup, and seasonings.
  4. Sautee until it begins to caramelize.
  5. Serve and enjoy!

IMG_6544It’s been a while since I’ve hopped over to the Virtual Vegan Linky Potluck.. I gotta get back on it! Come check it out!

2 thoughts on “Sweet and Sour Sauteed Brussels Sprouts

  1. Delicious Peace of Mind says:

    Yummy looking Brussels sprouts! Love the idea of adding apple cider vinegar for some sourness 🙂 I used to make them similar: onions, Brussels sprouts and chopped walnuts mixed with ground black pepper, salt and barley malt syrup. Pop in oven for about 20 minutes and near the end, add sesame seeds and paprika powder. Sweet-salty combination is great! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

