Cheezy Kale Chips

IMG_6502

I’m a chips gal. It’s honestly super rare for me not to have chips hanging around my pantry. I can’t help it… It’s genetic. Not kidding.. Ask my ma and my sister, we just can’t say no to chips.

Kale chips, though, are a good alternative to potato chips & do tend to satisfy my salty/crunchy cravings while not being so nutritionally void. They don’t keep/pack well in my experience, so they’re best eaten fresh and not carried along to work, but they’re one of my favorite ways to eat kale when I’m hanging around home or my sister’s house.

I ordinarily make them with just a little bit of oil and salt, but I was craving a cheezy version one day, so I hit the web looking for recipes. Most cheezy kale chip recipes I found had cashews as the base, but I don’t find cashews extremely affordable for a lazy afternoon snack that I’m just gonna mow down. Though, I’ll totally splurge and make a cashew cheese log here and there. So, instead of cashews, I thought tahini would make a good substitute. It worked!

IMG_6471

  • 2 bunches kale – I used curly kale.. Lacinato would work, too.
  • 1/4 cup Tahini
  • 3 – 4 Tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/2 cup nutritional yeast
  • 2 Tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/8 – 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper (optional)

IMG_6477

First, wash, dry and tear or cut kale. Remove any large stems.

Preheat oven to 300 degrees Fahrenheit.

IMG_6480

Blend together all ingredients except kale in food processor or blender until well combined and smooth. It should come out being a somewhat thin, workable paste.

IMG_6490

Massage the paste onto the kale. You’ll need to use your hands to break it up and spread it well.

IMG_6491

Spread on a baking sheet and bake in oven for ten minutes, then flip/stir/rotate. Bake in the oven until crisp, in my gas oven, this takes an additional 10 -15 more minutes. In my mother’s electric oven, kale chips take 30 – 35 minutes.There’s a fine line between crisp and burnt when it come to kale chips,  so keep an eye on them while baking.

When crisp, remove from oven and enjoy. Yummmmmm.

IMG_6497

3 thoughts on “Cheezy Kale Chips

Leave a Reply

