Life Lately

IMG_2438

Life lately has been busy. Not in a stressful way though… I’ve been doing so many amazing things. I haven’t had time to pay attention to this space for the last week…. I’m launching a small scale organic and heirloom produce farm with one of my neighbors/friends and my freetime has been devoted to that. This year we are selling our goods to our friends and family by the box and planning on having a lil produce stand in our neighborhood. Next year, hopefully we’ll grow. Maybe farmer’s markets, maybe a CSA, who knows?! (We cannnooootttt think of a name for the farm, though! Ahhhhh!) The photo above is one of my favorite indicators that I am happy. I’m getting what I call my ‘summer hands’….. scuffed up and permanently dirty.

Screen Shot 2015-04-20 at 1.06.13 PM

We did a ton of work on the farm over the weekend. We planted a few things that are cold hearty because we’re still in danger of the possibility of snow here. Right now, well, it just looks like a patch of dirt.

IMG_2428

We broke up some rhubarb and transplanted it to a spot where it has more space and I planted some around my yard. I was surprised at what the roots looked like… They look like carrots!

IMG_2432-1

We reorganized a huge patch of strawberries.. The photo above is all of the strawberry plants that we dug up in order to make more space between plants. The Driscoll’s strawberry box is purely coincidence ha!

IMG_2434

This is our half-way finished newly modified strawberry patch. We replanted them 1 ft x 1 ft apart. We found good use for all the leftover plants, too.

IMG_7129

Not this last weekend, but the weekend before… the 11th? I shot a beautiful wedding for one of my darling friends. I’ve been editing photos like a madwoman ever since…… 8.5 hrs yesterday. Phew. But for real…. Gorgeous bride, or what??!

IMG_2335

My spider plant that I thought I once killed has been nursed back to life and is now makin babies! Wooohooo!

IMG_2360

Hiking selfie…. I was thinking about it….. My face almost never shows up on this blog. So here it is, my face. Out hiking.

IMG_2285

Some cool fungi on a tree from a hike.

IMG_2364One of my favorite spots in the world. I live near a really amazing county park. I’ve been going there quite often, but right now it’s closed for two weeks for hunting. Ughhhhhhhhhhh. It makes me so angry. I can certainly hike somewhere else, but this place happens to be like 6 minutes from my house so it’s easy to pop out there after work.

So, that’s life lately. Diggin in the dirt, thinking about plants, editing photos, going to work, and hiking. I haven’t had time for art or being crafty lately. It’s supposed to be cooler this week, so I’ll spend a little more time inside than last week.

What’ve you been up to?!

5 thoughts on “Life Lately

  1. Pingback: Weekly Wishes 25 |
  2. rightnowraw says:

    This is beautiful! I think Summer Hands sounds like a good name for your CSA….. 😉 I always enjoy your post! Lovely pictures, you make me want to get out in my garden box and WORK!

    Like

    • Kayse says:

      Thank you, Pat! Get out in your garden box! You certainly won’t regret it. 🙂 Also, I clapped when I read that you think Summer Hands is a good name for our CSA! I love it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

