Friday Faves

friday favorites | arthealth&happiness

Hello, it’s Saturday now, but I wrote this on Friday and forgot to hit the post button. Yep. So here’s my Friday faves from the week.

Screen Shot 2015-08-08 at 3.05.09 PM

I have a friend who would llove this birthday card. Thankfully, she doesn’t read my blog consistently because we talk every day and she always knows what I’m up to/into so she probably won’t see it in this post 🙂

Screen Shot 2015-08-08 at 3.05.37 PM

This is precious.

Screen Shot 2015-08-08 at 3.05.45 PM

If I had enough money to spare, this is a piece of decor I’d splurge on. Oh my goodness is it beautiful.

Screen Shot 2015-08-08 at 3.05.52 PM

Dainty cat ring! No better accessory.

Screen Shot 2015-08-08 at 3.06.32 PM

This print

Screen Shot 2015-08-08 at 3.06.38 PM

and this print from this shop are stunning. Seriously stunning.

Screen Shot 2015-08-08 at 3.59.10 PM

Thank you to Netflix for having so many good documentaries… I watched The True Cost this week and set a rather lofty goal for myself… The film is about the treatment and exploitation of garment workers that create clothing for the ‘fast fashion’ industry. Although I always felt a sense of guilt when I purchased items at stores that sell tanks for $1.90, etc. because I knew someone along the way was paid poorly for me to be able to purchase an item of clothing that cheap, I never pushed myself to research it in depth. The True Cost inspired to make an agreement with myself to not purchase any new clothing for the next year with the exception of new underwear if needed (and I’ll try to find a good source of organic cotton undies that are made as ethically as possible) or if I should rip my only pair of dress pants for shooting weddings, I will purchase a new pair at a thrift store. I think I’ll be more mindful of repairing the clothing I’ve got, and I think even after the year is up, I will be less likely to buy a random item of clothing that I don’t need when I’m just wandering through Target. Sidenote: I also realize that tons of other items are made using the exploitation of others and I will also try to be aware of this but my specific goal is to be especially mindful of clothing.

Screen Shot 2015-08-08 at 3.24.23 PMLastly, this is a tearjerker. In my studies of veganism I’ve often read about how much mama cows mourn their babies when they are separated. It’s so darn sad that on dairy farms mama and baby are separated so darn soon for milk for human consumption when we most certainly do not need it.

Happy weekend, yo!

Leave a Reply

