Roasted Maple Mustard Carrots

IMG_7572

When I found this recipe, I knew I had to try it with the slew of rainbow carrots I’ve grown. And it’s amazingggggg. I’ve made it a few times since. Just had to share!

IMG_7552

Cosmic Purple, Scarlet Nantes, Atomic Red, Lunar White, Amarillo, and Pusa Asita carrots. Let me know if you want to know where I got the seeds for any of these! I recommend them all, especially the beautiful black Pusa Asitas!

IMG_7553

ingredients
  • 2 pounds carrots, well scrubbed or peeled – if they aren’t long thin young carrots, just cut your bigger ones into long thin wedges
  • 2 tablespoons oil – I used coconut
  • 2 tablespoons maple syrup
  • 1/2 tablespoon grainy mustard
  • 1/2 tablespoon dijon mustard
  • 1/2 tablespoon miso paste – to avoid soy, I use a chickpea miso
  • 1/2 tablespoon rice vinegar – I actually used a chive flower infused vinegar I made myself
  • 2 teaspoons soy sauce – I used coconut aminos to avoid soy
  • 1 small clove garlic, grated

IMG_7558

directions (From CLOSETCOOKING.COM)
  1. Toss the carrots in half of the mixture of the oil, maple syrup, mustards, miso, vinegar, soy sauce and garlic, arrange in a single layer on a baking sheet and bake in a preheated 400F/200C oven until tender and lightly golden brown, about 20-30 minutes, turning half way through, before tossing them in the remaining glaze and serving.

IMG_7567

IMG_7561I served mine alongside adzuki beans, sliced garden fresh kohlrabi, quinoa seasoned with a little coconut aminos and salt, and fried local oyster mushrooms (oyster mushrooms have replaced portobellos as my all time favorite mushroom!!).  

2 thoughts on “Roasted Maple Mustard Carrots

Leave a Reply

