Vegan GF Fried Green Tomatoes

IMG_2192

I had to pull all my tomato plants because… It’s cold here. So, I had a big ol’ box of green tomatoes. Pulled out my cast iron skillet, and fried green tomato time it was.

IMG_2186

So good.

Ingredients

  • 3 – 4 unripened, medium sized green tomatoes
  • Sea salt
  • ½ cup brown rice flour
  • ¼ teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon cayenne seasoning
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • ½ cup unsweetened non-dairy milk
  • ½ cup cornmeal
  • Oil for frying

IMG_2180

Clean up some lovely green tomatoes. Slice them 1/4 inch thick. Lay the slices out and sprinkle with salt. Let the tomatoes sweat for 5 minutes, and dab off excess water.

IMG_2181

Pour the milk in a bowl, the brown rice flour in another bowl. Pour the remaining ingredients in another bowl and whisk cornmeal and spices together.

Dip each side of the tomato slices first in the brown rice flour, then the milk, then the cornmeal spice mixture.

IMG_2183

Coat a cast iron skillet in oil and turn heat to medium. Place tomato slices in skillet and fry 3-4 minutes on each side until golden and crispy. Serve and enjoy! I like mine with a little hot sauce!

IMG_2191

5 thoughts on “Vegan GF Fried Green Tomatoes

  1. Brittany says:

    I have been wanting to try these since my trip to Cleveland last month because my friend and I watched the movie! HAHA. I also just want to try them because they look AMAZING!

    Like

Leave a Reply

