Marinated Portobello Sushi Rolls

IMG_4752

I love veggie sushi. One of the local restaurants here makes an amazing marinated shiitake roll that I absolutely adore but since it contains soy sauce, I get a headache if I eat them. They’re so wonderfully delicious that sometimes I get them anyway. I wanted to recreate the flavors at home so I could enjoy them without the pain.

IMG_4751

Ingredients:

  • 4 nori sheets
  • 1.5 cups cooked sushi rice (I used a longer grain white rice in these, and it doesn’t work as well, but… it’s what I had!)
  • 2-3 portobello mushroom caps, depending on size
  • 2 carrots
  • 3 green onions

Marinade:

  • 1/2 cup vegetable broth
  • 1/4 cup coconut aminos
  • 1/8 cup brown rice vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp wasabi powder

IMG_4732

Whisk together marinade ingredients and bring to a boil so that all ingredients assimilate and dissolve.

IMG_4734

Slice portobello mushrooms and lay out in a thin layer in a high sided pan.

IMG_4736

Pour hot marinade over the top and let sit for a half hour. Place in a preheated 350 degree Fahrenheit oven and roast for 15 minutes.

IMG_4740

Thinly slice carrots and green onion.

You can follow my directions here for how to roll them!

Serve and enjoy!

IMG_4742

Leave a Reply

