Chickpea Noodle Soup

 

My niece was hanging out with me the other day and asked if I would make chicken noodle soup… She’s two and a half and doesn’t understand the realm of veganism in the way my five year old niece Sophia has picked up on it. (Sophia always watches out for me and gets concerned when I eat (vegan) ice cream or reminds me to make sure there’s no butter on my popcorn, etc.)  Sooooo, I made -chickpea- noodle soup. Lilly liked it a lot, but apparently “chicken balls” (I do believe she means balls of chicken as opposed to ahem, the other possible interpretation of that phrase) aka chickpeas are not for her.

This recipe was easy to whip up quickly before our adventure to the neighbors’ farm where Lilly insisted on reading one of my books, Women Who Run with the Wolves, to the chickens, cats, sheep, and horses. It was really delicious, if I do say so myself, and reminiscent of the chicken noodle soup of my childhood.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup chickpeas
  • 1 medium sized onion, finely chopped
  • 1 cup diced celery
  • 1 cup diced carrots
  • 3+ cloves minced garlic
  • 2 cups just cooked and cooled gluten free noodles (I used Tinkyada shells)
  • 2-3 cups vegetable broth
  • 1/2 cup nutritional yeast
  • 2 tsp seasoned salt
  • 2 tablespoons oil

Heat oil over medium heat in a stockpot.

Once oil is hot, add onion. Saute until translucent.

Add garlic and celery. Saute until just beginning to soften.

Add carrots. Saute until just beginning to soften.

Add broth, nutritional yeast, and seasoned salt. Add additional water if necessary, I added about 3 cups of water to create my desired brothiness.

Once vegetables are cooked through and broth is hot, add pre-cooked noodles.

Serve and enjoy!

8 thoughts on “Chickpea Noodle Soup

  1. BEAUTYCALYPSE says:

    Sounds like a great staple. I should try it. Have found a brand of chickpea (and of lentil) fusilli, and it occurred to me that when you cook them, the boiling water smells ever so slightly of chicken soup. As in: light *enough* to not make my vegetarian heart and stomach cringe 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

