My Favorite Sweet Breakfast

I know… Part of this dish totally looks like greasy bbq chicken wings. But hear me out, cus it’s not.

I was craving a sweet breakfast the other day and wanted something that would be sweet but still be satiating and keep my full. So I threw together a dish of creamy coconut rice, black beans and pineapple, and my favorite, fried cinnamon bananas.

In the super small co-op a town or two over from mine, I overheard a woman talking about frying bananas like a person would fry plantains. I really dig bananas so I tried it when I got home. Oh. My. Goodness. They’re just caramelly, banana-y goodness.

So, definitely a sweet breakfast to enjoy, but without being a HUGE spike in sugar like, say a donut or pancakes and syrup would be.

Creamy Coconut Rice

  • 1 cup long grain white rice (use brown if you prefer, but I had white at the time)
  • 2 Tbsp coconut milk or coconut cream
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt

Prepare rice as you usually would, I use a rice cooker.

Sweet Pineapple Black Beans

  • 1 cup cooked black beans
  • 1/2 cup pineapple, diced
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp vegan sugar

Heat all ingredients together.

Fried Cinnamon Bananas

  • 2 bananas, peeled, then cut into thirds, then halves
  • 2-3 Tbsp coconut oil
  • 1-2 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt

Heat oil in skillet over medium – medium/low heat. Add banana slices to hot oil and sprinkle cinnamon over the bananas. Sprinkle the sugar over and once the bottom of the bananas have just browned, flip. Fry until the other side has just browned. They should be soft, caramelized, and slightly melty.

Serve rice, beans, and bananas together and enjoy.

 

Those baaaannnnaaannnaaaaas!

2 thoughts on “My Favorite Sweet Breakfast

Leave a Reply

