DIY Turmeric Face Scrub

img_8300

I dunno about you, but winter has been rough on my skin this year. Especially my face. And the less sunlight I get, the more I’m prone to breakouts. A friend suggested exfoliating more often might help… So I whipped up a batch of this turmeric scrub, and I’ve noticed a significant improvement in my skin! I’m getting fewer breakouts and have less flakiness.

Turmeric can be greatly effective for acne because it is antiseptic and antibacterial. It reduces inflammation and can even potentially help clear acne scars. It also reduces oil secretion by sebaceous glands, which can really help with breakouts and blackheads.

I will warn you, turmeric has serious staining power! I scrub my face, then wash with a gentle soap and water with my hands, then dry my face on a darker colored towel. Just make sure if you get it anywhere other than your face, you clean it up sooner rather than later.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup fine sugar (or, if you have sugar with a larger grain to it, just pulse in a blender or food processor a couple of times until it’s fine)
  • 1 Tablespoon coconut oil
  • 2 tsp ground turmeric

Mix ingredients together until it becomes like moon sand – not greasy, but still sticks together somewhat.

img_8303

Apply a small amount to your face and scrub gently. Rinse with a mild soap and water. If there is any coconut oil residue left on your skin, just rub in for moisturizing.

img_8302

2 thoughts on “DIY Turmeric Face Scrub

Leave a Reply

